University of Chittagong (CU) is a university located at Fatehpur Chittagong. It was established on 24 Sep, 1966. Its Chancellor is President of Bangladesh, Abdul Hamid and Vice Chancellor is Iftekhar Uddin Chowdhuri .Its EIIN is 136587.

The University of Chittagong or CU is situated on 1,754 acres of beautiful hilly land in mauja Fatehpur under hathazari Upazila, 22 km north of Chittagong city. It was started on 18 November 1966. This is the largest public university in Bangladesh in terms of total area of the campus.


Back in 1962, Mr. Mohammad Ferdaus Khan, Deputy Director of Public Instruction of East Pakistan, prepared a preliminary draft plan of Chittagong University. Earlier to that, the Chittagong University Movement Council was formed in 1961 with Badshah Mia Chowdhury, a distinguished social welfare worker of Chittagong, as president and professor Ahmad Hossain of Chittagong City College as convenor. Dr. Muhammad Shahidullah (1885-1969), Dr. Muhammad Enamul Haq (1906-82) and some other educationists, intellectuals, political personalities, and social workers played leading roles in the site selection movement of 1962.

On 3 December 1965, Professor A R Mallick (1918-97), as project Director, initiated the work of founding the Chittagong University with only three employees, a photocopier, and one typewriter in a house on Road 3 of Chittagong City’s Nasirabad Housing Society. The Chittagong University Ordinance was promoted on 25 September 1966 and Professor Mallick was given the charge of Vice-Chancellor on that day. The University of Chittagong has been ranked number two on the Bangladesh University ranking 2018 by Webometrics.

Academic Programmed History

The University of Chittagong started its academic programme on 28 November with classes of MA (Preliminary) programme with only 200 students in the departments of Bangla, English, History, and Economics under the faculty of Arts. After a short, while Engineering, Medical, Law and Education Colleges situated outside the university campus were incorporated as separate faculties, and thus the university’s educational activities kept expanding.

Arts Faculty

Under Arts faculty, the departments of Bangla, English, and History were established in 1966, that of Fine Arts in 1970, Philosophy in 1972, Islamic History and Culture, and Oriental Languages in 1974, Arabic and Persian Languages in 1977, and of Journalism in 1994. These departments have programmes of BA (Honours), MA (Preliminary), and MA (Final).

Science Faculty

Under Science faculty, the departments of Physics, Mathematics, and Chemistry were set up in 1968, Statistics in 1970, Zoology and Botany in 1973, Oceanography Institute in 1971, Institute of Forestry in 1976, and the Research Centre for Mathematical and Physical Sciences in 1989 opened by the Nobel Prize-winning scientist Professor Abdus Salam. The departments under the Science faculty have programmes of B Sc (Hons), M Sc (preliminary) and M Sc (Final).

Social Science Faculty

The Social Science Faculty was founded in 1971. Under this faculty, the departments of Economics, Sociology, Political Science, Public Administration, and Anthropology started in 1966, 1968, 1970, 1980, and 1997 respectively. Departments under this faculty conduct BSS (Honours), MSS (Preliminary) and MSS (Final) programmes.

Commerce Faculty

The Commerce faculty was established in 1971. Departments of this faculty conduct BBA and MBA programmes.

Law Faculty

The Department of Law under the faculty of Law was founded in 1992.

Degrees Awarded

Undergraduate: BA, MA, BEd, BSc, MSc, MS, BBA, MBA, LLB, LLM, MEd, BSS, MSS, M.B.B.S. B.U.M.S
Postgraduate: M.Phil., Ph.D., M.D., M.P.H

Faculties and Departments

There are 54 departments under 9 faculties. To see faculties and department information click faculty on the left sidebar.


  • Halls of residence
  • Library
  • Resource center for the visually impaired students
  • Health Services
  • Sports and extracurricular activities
  • Intramural and Extramural Programme
  • Cafeteria
  • Transport
  • It-Facilities

Halls of Residence

There are now 12 residential halls at the University of Chittagong, out of which 8 are boy’s halls and 4 are girl’s

Basic Info

University of Chittagong (CU)
President of Bangladesh, Abdul Hamid President of Bangladesh, Abdul Hamid
Vice Chancellor
Iftekhar Uddin Chowdhuri Iftekhar Uddin Chowdhuri
24 September, 1966 24 September, 1966

Public Results of University of Chittagong (CU)

No results found.


Want to get update about University of Chittagong (CU)? Subscribe now. We will send update to your email and mobile.


No teachers found.

Students | Alumni


No events found.


No galleries found.


Click here to add new video link.

Contact Info

Police St.


Send Message

  • Drop files here or
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Similar content that you might like


Submit Your Review

Please login first to submit your review.