Sher-e-bangla Agriculture University - Sohopathi | সহপাঠী
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-33036,single-format-standard,ajax_leftright,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-17.1,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.5,vc_responsive

Sher-e-bangla Agriculture University

Sher-e-bangla Agriculture University

  • Home
  • Faculty
  • People
  • Gallery
  • Notice
  • Event
  • Contact

Sher-e-bangla Agriculture University is a university located at Sher-e-banglanagar Dhaka. It was established on 12 Dec, 2018. It's Chancellor is Abdul Hamid and Vice Chancellor is Professor Dr. Kamal Uddin Ahamed .The university has 4 faculties and 37 departments.The institute code of the university is (EIIN) 136596.

Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University (Bengali: শেরে বাংলা কৃষি বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়, Sher-e-Bangla Krishi Bishshobiddaloy) or SAU is the oldest agricultural institution in Bangladesh and South Asia. It is situated in Sher-e-Bangla Nagar, Dhaka. It was established on 11 December 1938 as Bengal Agricultural Institute (BAI) and later upgraded to university in 2001 renaming it as Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University.

Since its establishment, the university plays a role in agricultural research and development (R&D) of the region through creation of knowledge, agricultural technology generation and transfer, crop diversification and intensification for the benefit of farming communities. SAU offers undergraduate, postgraduate and Ph.D. degrees through course credit system.

SAU was established as Bengal Agricultural Institute (BAI) on 11 December 1938 by Sher-e-Bangla A. K. Fazlul Huq, the chief minister of undivided Bengal. The Bengal Agricultural Institute was renamed East Pakistan Agricultural Institute in 1947. After the emergence of Bangladesh as an independent country in 1971, the name of the institute was spontaneously changed to Bangladesh Agricultural Institute (BAI).

Since its inception in 1938, the BAI had been functioning as a Faculty of Agriculture under Dhaka University. After the establishment of Bangladesh Agricultural University (BAU) at Mymensingh in 1961, its academic function was transferred to BAU in 1964 until its upgrade to Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University in 2001.

Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University, Dhaka, Bangladesh
SAU became the 17th public university of the country in 2001. The Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University Act 2001 was passed in the Parliament of Bangladesh on 9 July. The foundation stone was laid by the then Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on 15 July 2001 and inaugurated the university activities through the appointment of the first vice-chancellor: Professor Md. Shadat Ulla.

SAU functioned as a university from 2001 with a single faculty: the Faculty of Agriculture following the issuance of a notification by the government as per requirement of the Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University Act 2001.[1] On 22 June 2009, a bill was placed in the parliament to assign the president as chancellor.[2] The Agribusiness Management, Animal Science & Veterinary Medicine and Fisheries and Aquaculture faculties started in 2007, 2012 and 2017.

Nearly 5,700 graduates plus 600 postgraduates have been produced by the Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University. Presently about 3,300 undergraduate and postgraduate students are enrolled and are taught by faculty members.

Basic Info

  • University
  • Chancellor
    Abdul Hamid
  • Vice Chancellor
    Professor Dr. Kamal Uddin Ahamed
  • Founded
    12 December, 2018
  • Motto (Bengali)
    গবেষণা, শিক্ষা, সম্প্রসারণ
  • Motto (English)
    Research, Education, Extension
  • EIIN
  • Drop files here or
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


No photos found.


No videos found.


No teachers found.


No students statistics found.


No events found.



Contact Info


Search Board Results