Sher-e-Bangla Agriculture University (SAU) is a university located at Sher-e-banglanagar Dhaka. It was established on 09 Jul, 2020. Its Chancellor is Abdul Hamid and Vice Chancellor is Professor Dr. Kamal Uddin Ahamed .Its EIIN is 136596.

Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University or SAU is the oldest agricultural institution in Bangladesh and South Asia. It is located in Sher-e-Bangla Nagar, Dhaka. It was founded on 11 December 1938 as Bengal Agricultural Institute (BAI) and later upgraded to a university in 2001 renaming it as Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University. SAU offers undergraduate, postgraduate and Ph.D. degrees through the course credit system.


SAU was established as Bengal Agricultural Institute (BAI) on 11 December 1938 by Sher-e-Bangla A. K. Fazlul Huq, the chief minister of undivided Bengal. The Bengal Agricultural Institute (BAI) was renamed East Pakistan Agricultural Institute in 1947. After the emergence of Bangladesh as an independent country in 1971, the name of the institute was spontaneously changed to Bangladesh Agricultural Institute.
Since its inception in 1938, the BAI had been functioning as a Faculty of Agriculture under Dhaka University. After the establishment of Bangladesh Agricultural University (BAU) at Mymensingh in 1961, its academic function was transferred to BAU in 1964 until its upgrade to Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University in 2001.

SAU became the 17th public university of Bangladesh in 2001. The Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University Act 2001 was passed in the Parliament of Bangladesh on 9 July. The foundation stone was laid by the then honorable Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on 15 July 2001 and inaugurated the university activities through the appointment of the first vice-chancellor: Professor Md. Shadat Ulla.

SAU functioned as a university from 2001 with a single faculty: the Faculty of Agriculture following the issuance of a notification by the government as per requirement of the Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University Act 2001. On 22 June 2009, a bill was placed in the parliament to assign the president as chancellor. The Animal Science & Veterinary Medicine, Agribusiness Management, and Fisheries and Aquaculture faculties started in 2012, 2007 and 2017.

Nearly 5,700 graduates plus 600 postgraduates have been created by the Sher-e-Bangla Agricultural University. Recently about 3,300 undergraduate and postgraduate students are enrolled and are taught by faculty members.

Faculties and Departments

SAU has 37 departments under 4 faculties. To see faculties and department info click faculty on the left sidebar. To see also notice click notice on the left sidebar.


  • Central lab
  • Cyber cafe
  • Cafeteria
  • Central mosque
  • Halls of residence
  • Gymnasium
  • Library
  • Medical center
  • Poultry farm
  • Transport
  • TSC
  • Machinery farm
  • Research field
  • Temple

Basic Info

Sher-e-Bangla Agriculture University (SAU)
Abdul Hamid Abdul Hamid
Vice Chancellor
Professor Dr. Kamal Uddin Ahamed Professor Dr. Kamal Uddin Ahamed
09 July, 2001 09 July, 2001
Motto (BN)
গবেষণা, শিক্ষা, সম্প্রসারণ গবেষণা, শিক্ষা, সম্প্রসারণ
Motto (EN)
Research, Education, Extension Research, Education, Extension

Public Results of Sher-e-Bangla Agriculture University (SAU)

No results found.


Want to get update about Sher-e-Bangla Agriculture University (SAU)? Subscribe now. We will send update to your email and mobile.


No teachers found.

Students | Alumni

No records found.


No events found.


No galleries found.


Click here to add new video link.

Contact Info

01716581086 01716581086


Send Message

  • Drop files here or
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Similar content that you might like


Submit Your Review

Please login first to submit your review.