Susbscritbe to get updates

Similar Institutes


National University (NU) is an academic institute located at Board Bazar, 1704, Gazipur, Bangladesh Gazipur. Its institute code (EIIN) is 136590. It was established on 21 October, 1992.

National University, Bangladesh is a parent university of Bangladesh that was established by an Act of Parliament as an affiliating University of the country to impart graduate and post-graduate level education to the students through its affiliated colleges and professional institutions throughout the country. It is the 3rd largest university in the world according to enrollment. The headquarter is in Gazipur, on the outskirts of Dhaka.

National University

National University Brief History:

Established in 1992 by an Act of Parliament of Bangladesh as an affiliating University, the National University caters the general education at graduate and post-graduate level in colleges/professional institutions hitherto remained affiliated to different public universities in the country. More than 2.8 million students (Male 1.5 and Female 1.3) are studying in 2300 colleges/institutions (Government 275, Non-government 2000; Honours 770+, Masters [both preliminary and final] 145; Women’s 123) affiliated to this university.

The University is located in a beautiful place surrounded by greenery all around in the district called Gazipur, which is just 30 km away from the country capital city, Dhaka. Unlike other universities of Bangladesh, the National University is an off-campus University spread to the length and breath of the country through its affiliated bodies. Besides the Headquarters in Gazipur, there are six Regional Centres in six administrative divisions to run the affairs of the University.

The University offers BA, BSS, BBS, B.Sc., Post-graduate, and Professional degrees through field level institutions. However, it also conducts MS, M.Phil and Ph.D. Programmes on a limited scale at the Gazipur campus. The National University is expanding in terms of number of students, courses, and institutions day by day.

National University Academic Faculty & Departments:

Faculty of Arts

  • Department of Arabic and Islamic Studies
  • Department of Bengali
  • Department of Islamic History & culture
  • Department of English
  • Department of History
  • Department of Pali and Sanskrit

Faculty of Science

  • Department of Computer Science
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Biochemistry
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Statistics

Faculty of Social Science

  • Department of Law
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Political science
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Social Work
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Psychology

Faculty of Business Studies

  • Department of BBA (Professional)
  • Department of Accounting
  • Department of Finance
  • Department of Management
  • Department of Marketing

Faculty of Life & Earth Science

  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Geography & Environmental Studies
  • Department of Botany

No data found.
No data found.
No data found.
No data found.

Provide information for verification

Donate to National University (NU)