Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University (MBSTU) is a university located at Santosh Tangail. It was established on 10 Dec, 1999. Its Chancellor is Abdul Hamid and Vice Chancellor is Professor Dr. Md. Alauddin .

Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University or MBSTU  is the 13th government-financed public university and 2nd science and technology specialized public university in Bangladesh specializing in science, business, and technology. It is named after the charismatic political leader Mawlana Abdul Hamid Khan Bhashani. The medium of instruction is English. Every year, near 800 (currently 795) students are enrolled in undergraduate programs to study in this institution. The number of teachers is almost 169. Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University has continued to expand over the last few years. This includes the construction of new academic buildings, teachers dorm, Vice-chancellor residence, library building, several halls for the students etc.


The Prime Minister of The Peoples Republic of Bangladesh Sheikh Hasina established the foundation-stone of MBSTU at Santosh, Tangail in 1999. Md. Yousuf Sharif Ahmed Khan was employed as its first vice-chancellor on 21 November 2002. Classes started 25 October 2003 with 5 teachers and 83 students. At first, the university had two departments, Information, and Communication Technology (ICT), and Computer Science and Engineering (CSE). The following year two more departments were added, Environmental Science and Resource Management (ESRM), and Criminology and Police Science (CPS).

Three more departments were opened, in the 2003-2004 academic session.: Biotechnology & Genetic Engineering (BGE), Textile Engineering (TE), and Food Technology & Nutritional Science (FTNS). In the 2010-2011 academic session, four more departments were added: Business Administration, Mathematics and Statistics, Chemistry, and Physics. In 2012, Statistics and Mathematics split into two departments. In the 2013-2014 academic session, two more departments were added named Pharmacy and Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, established by VC.

Between 2013 and 2015, Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University was the scene of several violent clashes allegedly involving the Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL). University staff was beaten, payments were extorted, classrooms were set on fire, buildings were vandalized, and in May 2015 a student was killed, which caused Vice-Chancellor Mohammad Alauddin to temporarily close the university.

Faculties and Departments

Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University has 17 departments under 5 faculties. To see faculties and department info click faculty on the left sidebar. To see also notice click notice on the left sidebar.


  • Clubs and social organizations
  • Library
  • Halls of residence
  • Health services
  • Alumni association

Halls of residence

There are Five resident halls for both (Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Hall, Shahid Ziaur Rahman Hall, Muktijoddha Abdul Mannan Hall for male and Shahid Janani Jahanara Imam Hall, Alema Khatun Bhashani Hall for ladies) already completed and more to go.

Basic Info

Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University (MBSTU)
Abdul Hamid Abdul Hamid
Vice Chancellor
Professor Dr. Md. Alauddin Professor Dr. Md. Alauddin
10 December, 1999 10 December, 1999
Sheikh Hasina Sheikh Hasina

Public Results of Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University (MBSTU)

No results found.


Want to get update about Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University (MBSTU)? Subscribe now. We will send update to your email and mobile.


No teachers found.

Students | Alumni

No records found.


No events found.


No galleries found.


Click here to add new video link.


No notices found.

Contact Info

0921-55399 0921-55399


Send Message

  • Drop files here or
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Similar content that you might like


Submit Your Review

Please login first to submit your review.