Comilla University (COU) - Sohopathi | সহপাঠী
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-32263,single-format-standard,ajax_leftright,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-17.1,qode-theme-bridge,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.5.5,vc_responsive

Comilla University (COU)

Comilla University (COU)

  • Home
  • Faculty
  • People
  • Gallery
  • Notice
  • Event
  • Contact

Comilla University (COU) is a university located at Salmanpur, Kotbari Comilla. It was established on 01 Jan, 2006. It's Chancellor is Abdul Hamid and Vice Chancellor is Professor Dr. Emran Kabir Chowdhury .The university has 6 faculties and 19 departments.The institute code of the university is (EIIN) 136597.

The Comilla University (Bengali: কুমিল্লা বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়) is a public university located at Kotbari, Comilla, Bangladesh. The university was constructed on 50 acres (20 ha) of land at Shalban Vihara, Moynamoti. Comilla University is affiliated by University Grants Commission, Bangladesh.

Golam Mowlah is the founder vice-chancellor of Comilla University who served until he was removed on 30 July 2008. Zulfikar Ali, a professor of mathematics, was given the charge as acting vice-chancellor. The next vice-chancellor of Comilla University, A.K.M. Zehadul Karim declared his resignation on 7 October 2009 after major violence in campus. Amir Hossen Khan, a professor of Physics department of Jahangirnagar University, was appointed as Vice-Chancellor on 22 November 2009.[6] After expiration of the duration of Amir Hossen Khan then Ali Ashraf, a professor of Economics department and Ex-President of Chittagong University Teachers Association has been appointed as the 5th Vice-Chancellor of Comilla University. He joined the university on 3 December 2013.

It started with 7 functional departments. Now there are a total of 19 departments Under 6 faculties including Information & Communication Technology (ICT), Computer Science & Engineering (CSE), Pharmacy, Physics, Chemistry, Statistics, Mathematics, Finance and Banking, Accounting & Information Systems (AIS), Marketing, Management Studies, Media & Journalism, Law, Economics, Public Administration, Archeology, Anthropology, Bengali, and English.

The executive committee of the National Economic Council (ECNEC) approved a project for the establishment of twelve science and technology universities in the country during 2001 and one of these was planned to be established in Comilla. But instead, the government granted a general university and its charter in Comilla on 8 May 2006, as the 26th public university under which the university is being operated.

The university formally started its journey on 28 May 2007, through an orientation program for the 2006–07 academic year with 300 students and 15 teachers enrolled in 7 departments under 4 faculties:

Department of Mathematics under the Faculty of Science,
Department of English under the Faculty of Arts & Humanities,
Department of Economics and Public Administration under the Faculty of Social Science,
Three departments (Accounting & Information Systems, Management, Marketing) under the School of Business.
The Department of Computer Science & Engineering (CSE) was introduced in the 2008–09 session. The Department of Bangla, Department of Anthropology and the Department of Information and Communication Technology (ICT) was introduced in the 2009–2010 session. Three new departments (Physics, Chemistry, and Statistics) have been opened in the academic session 2010–2011. From the academic session, 2013–14 three more departments (Finance and Banking, Pharmacy and Archeology) have been introduced. Comilla University has more than four thousand students in different batches, 120 teachers and 100 staffs devoted to conducting teaching and research.

Basic Info

  • University
  • Chancellor
    Abdul Hamid
  • Vice Chancellor
    Professor Dr. Emran Kabir Chowdhury
  • Founded
    01 January, 2006
  • Motto (English)
    For better Education
  • EIIN
  • Drop files here or
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.


No photos found.


No videos found.


No teachers found.


No students statistics found.


No events found.

Contact Info


Search Board Results