Susbscritbe to get updates

Similar Institutes


Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agriculture University (BSMRAU) is an academic institute located at Shmultali-Salna Road, Gazipur 1706 Gazipur. Its institute code (EIIN) is 136595. It was established on 01 January, 1970.

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University or BSMRAU is a government-financed 13th public university of Bangladesh. BSMRAU was established in 1998 as a public university with an act (Act no. 16) promulgated by the government of Bangladesh. The university is located at South Salna, in Gazipur District. It is 9.5 kilometers from Gazipur Chowrasta, just east of the Dhaka-Mymensingh Highway.


Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University was established on 22 November 1998. Before, it was established as Institute of Post Graduate Studies in Agriculture (IPSA). In 1983, IPSA was originally founded as the Bangladesh College of Agricultural Sciences (BCAS). This University was an academic part of Bangladesh Agricultural Research Institute (BARI) and associated academically with Bangladesh Agricultural University. IPSA was transformed in an autonomic institution by the government of Bangladesh and started course credit based MS and Ph.D. programs in 1991. The graduate program of IPSA was progressed by the teachers of IPSA led by L. M. Eisgruver of Oregon State University (OSU).

In 1998, IPSA transformed into Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agricultural University. As a public university in Bangladesh, it continued the postgraduate program and launched an undergraduate program. In 2005, BSMRAU started to offer a Bachelor of Science degree in Agriculture BS (Agriculture).

In 2008, BSMRAU founded its Faculty of Fisheries and started to offer a BS degree in Fisheries. The Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Sciences was founded in 2009 and started to offer the Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (DVM) degree. After 3 years, in 2012, BSMRAU founded the Faculty of Agricultural Economics and Rural Development and started offering a BS in Agricultural Economics. Now, BSMRAU has five faculties.

Faculties and Departments

There are 34 departments under 5 faculties. To see faculties and department information click faculty on the left sidebar.


  • Residential facilities for Teachers, Officers, and Employees
  • Laboratory
  • Park
  • Central Mosque
  • Conference Room
  • TSC
  • Research Field
  • Cafeteria
  • Canteen
  • Health Centre
  • Sports Ground
  • Gymnasium
  • Guest House
  • Halls for residence

No data found.
No data found.
No data found.
No data found.

Provide information for verification

Donate to Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Agriculture University (BSMRAU)